2012 Feather Awards Nominees

September 27th, 2012 by The Journalist

Undeniably South Africa’s cheekiest and most audacious awards ceremony, the Feather Awards is a celebration of public figures – in the entertainment, sports and business fields – that the gay community finds inspiring, amusing, or just plain scandalous. Renowned for it’s take-no-prisoners, tell-it-like-it is approach, the Feather Awards has consistently delivered an evening of hilarity, heartfelt tributes, and unpolitically correct, yet well-placed truth-telling. In an exciting development this year, for the first time, the event will be screened on SABC1 – taking the event to the entire nation.

Feather Awards 2012 – Nominees

Drama Queen – These are personalities we read about every Sunday over breakfast, their lives revolve around a lot of dramatic behavior and situations.

Tshidi Tenyane

Bishop Keith Harrington

Tina Mkwaiwa

Sello Maake ka Ncube

Best Styled Female – These are the ladies who consistently kept up their style throughout the year.

Jeannie D

Minnie Dlamini

Melinda Bam

Lindiwe Sisulu

Best Styled Male – The men that have remained stylish throughout the year.

Melusi Yeni

Linda Makhanya

Sbu Leope


Musician of the Year – musicians we love to listen to on, and off stage.


Toya Delazy

The Muffinz

The Soil

Fag Hag – Need we say more?? They never leave their home without their favorite accessories – a gay friend.

Samkelo Ndlovu

Lucia Mthiyane

Lerato Kganyago

Bonang Matheba

Cutest Couple – These are couples people adore and look up to.

Momo & Tall Ass Mo

Khanyi Mbau & Tebogo Lerole

Sphectacula & Naves

DJ Fresh & Euphonik

Diva Extraordinaire – These women always carry themselves well, and have a strong & dignified presence.

Lindiwe Sisulu

Lindiwe Mazibuko

Khanyi Dhlomo

Michelle Botes

Socialite of the Year – Seen at every event! Whether it’s the opening of an envelope or an erection of a stop sign….

Linda Moeketsi & Shekeshe “Shakes” Mokgosi

Kgomotso Christopher

Lerato Kganyago

Miza Modibedi

Sports Personality of the Year – People who have inspired in the world of sports

Siboniso Gaxa

Katlego Mphela

Chad le Clos

Cameron van der Burgh

Hot Chick of the Year – these are women who ooze a lot of sex appeal.

Kgomotso Christopher

Gail Nkoane

Melinda Bam

Jay Anstey

Hunk of the Year – These men just ooze that X-factor! You look at them and you just want a strong hug.

Lunga Shabalala

Greg Hammond

Warrick “Warras” Scott

Tyrone Keogh

Role Model of the Year – They never put their foot wrong in the public eye, and can be relied on to contribute positively to society.

Thuli Madonsela

Khanyi Dlhomo

Caster Semenya

Chad le Clos

Source: Zkhipani


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: