Sihle Dlamini, Rising Star.

I had the pleasure to interview one of the most talented uprising stars to ever hit the face of Mzansi, his voice so smooth it’ll melt hearts, his style too suave you won’t resist and his heart, humble as a pie. Here’s how it went with @sihle_dlamini ~ By @ThabyLed

Thabiso: First and foremost who is Sihle Dlamini?
Sihle: Sihle is a hardworker and a spiritual being. Former Mayor of the Johannesburg Junior council & Chairperson of Okwethu Youth Organisation, but above all a young man and an upcoming artist who’s to take SA by storm musically to say but a few.

Thabiso: How long have you been in the music industry?
Sihle: I’ve been in the music industry since 2010. My friend Lebo introduced me to the legendary producer DOME, he was the 1st producer I ever worked with. From there I just continued to imrpove my sound.

Thabiso: So we hear you’re also in theater?
Sihle: Oh yeah! I’m a performer. Music is my first love but I’m not limited to music. God gave me the ability to express myself through the arts. I’ve been acting all year in a production called Chapter Untitled. The production has allowed me to further find truth in my art. I can say I’m a better performer now because of Chapter Untitled.I’m also a dancer, currently taking afrofusion & contemporary dance classes.

Thabiso: Explain to us what do you love most about being in the arts?
Sihle: As artists, we have the God given ability to express pain creatively. We can use our performances as a therapeutic mechanism and the power our craft has to motivate others is Godly.

Thabiso: Who inspires you to get going?
Sihle: My mother. I know loyalty because of her. My mother does everything she can to make life better for me. She inspires me to work hard so I can make life better for her, you know I have to return the favor.I’m also inspired by Thabo Mbeki. This is a man that played an integral role in running the country even before democracy. I’m also inspired by Russell Simmons, he is a very successful business man that is very spiritually inclined. That’s combination inspires me.I would like to have them all over for dinner some day hehehehehehe

Thabiso: Explain your image to us..
Sihle: I’m a performer, entrepreneur & philanthropist.As a performer I am able to serve as a vessel, bringing to life social issues.As an entrepreneur I am able to use my expert skills to package & sell my service.As a philanthropist I am able to invest my time in contributing to addressing the social issues ie, raising funds for the arts

Thabiso: How would you describe yourself in 5 words/lines?
Sihle: “An optimist that’s constantly evolving.”

Thabiso: What’s your take on SA music industry?
Sihle: The South African music industry continues to strive with our democracy. I remember in the 90’s when the kwaito & gospel industries really blossomed, listening to Mashampline(sp), Mdu, Trompies etc. It was a new era.Recently we have seen house music grow,(SA is the hub of house music globally)We are a diverse nation and there is room for good music. Right now the market is booming for live shows. We gotta work!

Thabiso: Where do you see yourself in five years?
Sihle: Stronger, Wiser & older. And richer Hehehehehe. I want to have created a voice that crosses beyond the boundaries of entertainment. I want to be inspiring people on a larger scale, internationally. I will be doing my second degree (still undecided between LLB&Economics)Spiritually I will be calmer, happier and more at peace.

Thabiso: Where do you draw your musical inspiration from?
Sihle: Firstly from within. I am learning on trusting my instinct more when I’m in studio or jamming with my friends. In that way I can always find truth in my work. Secondly I’m inspired by different kinds of music. From soul to hip hop.

Thabiso: How do you balance music and theatre?
Sihle: Its a lot of hard work & I love working hard;)I have had to make a lot of sacrifices. I basically do not have a social life. I’m constantly juggling my time between studios. It’s sad because I don’t get to spend as much time as I would like with family. And I’m also aware that its going to get even more demanding once I start doing live shows. But hey, I got to do what I gotta do.

Thabiso: What did you study and does it have any influence in your artistry?
Sihle: I’m studying a Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA) in Marketing with the Institute of Marketing Management(IMM) Graduate School of Marketing. It’s helping me a lot because not only do I view my brand from an artistic perspective, I also see my brand as a business model.

Thabiso: When are you releasing a debut album/single?
Sihle: I’m in studio at the moment working on my extended play(e.p). I just want to respect that process, not rush it. But expect a late 2013 release. Maybe you should review the ep at the listening session? (@ThabyLed: wouldn’t I just be honoured *laughing*)

Thabiso: What can we expect to hear from your music?
Sihle: A soulful representation of the complexities we put ourselves through when we choose to love.We have flaws & insecurities & I’m expressing it all in studio.

Thabiso: Who did you work with on your single/EP?
Sihle: Capris(ICUMusic) on my promo single “I’m In Love With You” Dotcom featured on the remix Zewande Bhengu directed my music video

Thabiso: Message to the youth?
Sihle: Its great to ‘live’ but its even better to have a goal and to focusing on goal that will make you a better person.

Thabiso: What’s the biggest lesson you’ve learned about the industry?
Sihle: If you are not going to see yourself as a business model you will forever blame others for being too business oriented when dealing with you.

Thabiso: What do you hope to achieve with your music?
Sihle: I want my music to be a truthful representation of what I feel. Most of the time artists have the pressure to release commercially friendly singles. I want to release music that is not just about the vocal arrangements but about the feeling behind the arrangements.

Thabiso: Any future collaborations?
Sihle: Yes!! Musically I’m working on something with my favorite singer, Lesedi Dipheko. We’re still speaking about it, having some great conversations…In terms of theatre I would like to work on a physical theatre peace. Still in the pipeline.

You can reach Sihle on:

• Twitter: @Sihle_dlamini

• Facebook: Sihle Dlamini

• Bookings dlaminisihles@gmail.com

•Promo single “I’m In Love With You” http://bit.ly/N4VRqb

•Video – “I’m In Love With You” featuring Dotcom http://youtu.be/IWFJrrkmPmg

Leave a Reply

